About Us

Seneca Highlands Intermediate Unit Nine

The Intermediate Unit

The Intermediate Unit is a part of Pennsylvania’s educational system. Established July 1, 1971, the Intermediate Units replaced the County Offices of Education. By legislation, all 501 school districts in Pennsylvania belong to one of the twenty-nine Intermediate Units.

About Intermediate Unit Nine

Intermediate Unit Nine is the Intermediate Unit in Pennsylvania which replaced the Offices of Education of Cameron, Elk, McKean and Potter Counties. It serves 12,948 public school students in fourteen school districts and 997 non-public school students in eight schools. Intermediate Unit Nine covers an area of 3,300 square miles with a population of 97,938.

Location of Intermediate Unit Nine

The main office is located at 119 Mechanic Street in Smethport, Pennsylvania. There are also branch offices at 78 Mill Street in Port Allegany, 306 North Main Street in Coudersport, and 514 Market Street in Johnsonburg.

Purpose of the Intermediate Unit

The Intermediate Unit is an organization through which school districts can work cooperatively to provide services which they cannot afford or prefer not to offer individually. By providing certain services cooperatively, districts can avoid duplication of personnel, building space, instructional materials, and equipment. The Intermediate Unit also has been assigned responsibilities by the Legislature and by the Department of Education.